Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Banned
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

Some six years ago I purchased a PMXT-66R tenor and wrote a review about it.

At the time, I was a first year jazz student at my local conservatory, recently having transitioned to tenor from playing alto almost exclusively. After 4 years of conservatory study, a couple of international tours, many hours of practice and countless local gigs, I thought I might take the time to share my impressions of the horn with you again, and perhaps shed some light on what it's like to use it as your regular axe. If there are other P Mauriat owners out there (particularly who play the 66R), I'd love to hear from you too!

Appearance / Finish

When I purchased my 66R, it came to me un-engraved, and in the standard vintage brush finish. I mentioned in my original review that the finish seemed to be flaking off in some areas, but that overall I thought it looked pretty. I have to admit, after a few years, I got sick of the finish! It continued to flake off, much to my disappointment. After talking to my repairer, I eventually decided to have the body sandblasted instead (although the finish remains on the keywork). Admittedly, this was largely a cosmetic choice, as the more I looked at the flaking vintage finish the more I thought it looked cheap. That being said, whilst I didn't think the finish had a detrimental effect on the sound, I also didn't think it was particularly enhancing it either.

Key Layout

After so many years of playing the 66R, the slightly unusual key layout of the left hand (particularly the palm keys and G# cluster) feels completely natural to me now. I can't vouch for the 66R's of the last couple of years (perhaps they've tweaked the key placement?) but if you're looking to transition to a 66R, my advice is to give yourself a couple of months to get used to it.

Tone

Two things here: think BIG and DARK.