Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I am interested in many aspects of saxophone acoustics.

Here is one aspect that I see mentioned frequently but not discussed: the importance or function of "thin rails" in a saxophone mouthpiece.

It is probably common enough that I don't need to cite this idea, but you will find people talking about thin rails all over the place. People use the "thinness" as a selling point, often talking about the improved response of the mp.
http://www.drakemouthpieces.com/Studio_Tenor_Model.html
https://westcoastsax.com/shop?olsPage=products/westcoast-sax-moam-tenor-105-saxophone-mouthpiece
https://forum.saxontheweb.net/showt...in-rails-reed-to-darken-it-make-it-less-buzzy

I would like to know what is going on here.
My question is in part motivated by the 10mfan Black Widow I just started playing -a really nice mp.
The rails are not particularly thin, and moreover the material just beyond the rail surface is *quite think - that is, the thinness is really only relevant to the surface on which the reed sits.

What could be going on here? Some thoughts...

Thin rails imply:

• A - a larger window.. and this has some desired effect like less resistance? or less wasted airstream?
  • B - extra resonance of the MP walls - maybe this is debunked by the 10mfan, and I'm not convinced this matters to the sound.
  • C - less contact area between the mouthpiece and reed - and therefore maybe less energy loss? If there is a water/spit seal there, some energy will be required to break the surface tension (hundreds of times / sec).
  • D - better overall craftsmanship. Correlation not causation.
  • E - that the material must be strong / rigid enough to support it. This rigidity may be the main difference not the rail thinness.
  • F - less opportunity for waviness in the surface and therefore more uniform reed contact - no gaps.