Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm an intermediate student clarinettist, I've been playing for 3 years and just recently it dawned on me that my articulation isn't great. When I tongue, my tongue touches the roof of my mouth (like when you say the letter T) and because of the way I tongue, you'll hear my tongue before the note speaks which just sounds really unclean and rookyish. I asked my band director for help with cleaner articulations and my band director adressed to me that my way of tongueing is incorrect and that my tongue should touch the tip of the reed when articulating. The problem is is that when I tried this, all I do is squeak, my tone is horrible, and it's very difficult to legato tongue. It also feels extremely unnatural to literally touch my reed with my tongue every time to articulate and it seems like there's just no way I'll be able to tongue fast doing that. Even when I try using the very tip of my tongue to the tip of the reed it still sounds bad.

All in all, I just want to be able to blow through my clarinet and be able to articulate at the same time that the note speaks. (tongue, note - same time) not tongue ..and then note speaks moments later)

I'm just really frustrated now as this is my biggest pitfall. I can do everything else on the clarinet except clean articulation so any help and advice is greatly appreciated. Thanks

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
4,632 Posts
Your band director is correct, and if you really want to become a better player you're going to have to unlearn what you know and start working on this. The crux of the matter is, you need to start notes with your tongue on the tip of the reed then remove it when you want the note to sound. Think of it that way, rather than attacking the reed with your tongue while blowing.

·
Forum Contributor 2015-2017
3,476 Posts
+1 to starting the sound with the articulation.

Your TIME is on your TONGUE. Not the breath support.