Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
1,870 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm sick of getting such a lousy tone from the high notes at having iffy low notes. So I've gone from 10 minutes of long tones to 30 minutes of long tones with a heavy emphasis on the highs and low. I've been doing it for three days and already there are noticible results. I'll let you know how it is in a month. Of course I do this with a tuner.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Sax Historian
7,110 Posts
Congratulations for not getting so sick of it that you can't stand to practice it at all - that's the great bugaboo of the late bloomer.

Right now I'm taking college freshman courses in ear training, theory and class piano. It's like shoveling chicken crap for someone who's been playing self-taught for 30 years. But if I ever want any real credentials in music, I gotta jump thru the same hoops everyone else did and do it smartly.

·
Registered
323 Posts
Yep - been there done that, even with a lot of training coming up from high shcool - it was still chicken crap and very hard for most of us even then. But hey, let me assure you of something. You will NEVER lose that knowledge you gain in those classes - like - ever. Great investment in a musician.

·
Distinguished Member, Forum Contributor 2012-2015
5,878 Posts
I've been contemplating doing that myself (extending the long tone practice time with special emphasis placed on the high and low register, plus overtones). But for me it is also a question of getting the right reed that plays for you in a balanced way. Please do let us know how you're progressing in about a month (but maybe a year is a more reasonable time period to assess improvement?)

·
Registered
1,870 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
If I have to wait a year for major progress, I'll quit! A half hour of long tones is a LONG time. Although I heard someone on the list say they did for four hours a day for awhile.

·
Distinguished Member, Forum Contributor 2012-2015