Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
358 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi!!!
Today is a big day for me because, for the first time in 5 years I'm going to play alto again (I've been playing tenor for 5 years now). I've bought a Keilwerth EX-90II (2nd hand, good state, recently checked). When I tested it it sounded great! I don't see why people don't like the sound. I think the EX-90II had the same "feel" like a pro-sax. One thing that would be kinda a problem, is that I now have to learn all my tunes and improvisations in Eb (I know everything in Bb atm). Also, transposing from C to Bb is pretty easy, you just put everything a whole note down. How do I do this for alto? It's in Eb, so, erhm, I guess I would have to put everything 1,5 step down? I'm always confused :p Anyways, what do you guys have experienced with Keilwerth?

Oh, by the way, sorry for the, maybe "spoilt" (although, this is my second sax in 5 years), title but I'm just really excited about it!

·
Registered
2,549 Posts
My daughter plays a SX-90 lacquered tenor and loves it. Though it is prone to sticky pads. My daughter had a EX -90II and prefered it to the SXs. She liked the left hand feel(similar to her cannonb all big bell alto). But we exchanged the EX for the Sx due to the EX having somew damage(pushed in thumb hook and bell braced pushed in bell that I failed to notice when purchasing). I hate keilwerth cases. We had her case modified at Ed's cases. Horn moved around too much in case. Ed added padding. When you play a Bb horn you trans[pose up a step(a major 2nd). Because when you finger a c on a soprano or tenor the sax sounds a Bb.For Eb horns you transpose up a M6 or down a m3.A Eb sax when figering a c plays a Eb.

·
Registered
358 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the info!

·
Banned
4,517 Posts
Or if you know Tenor notes, and wish to transpose. What is easier for me. Is this.