Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
All right, so i will try to cut to the bone here. Keep in mind that english is my second language, and i'm not used to expressing myself like this in english.
Last year i bought a beautiful instrument, a brand new Selmer SA80 Series 2. I use a custom otto link, phil-tone (or maybe tone-edge, i don't recall). I've been playing for 3 years, self taught. I've learned a lot for surfing the web, and in particular this webpage, and i thought i got it made. Just recently I bought and read "the art of the saxophone" by Larry Teal, and man was I wrong. I've made a lot of mistake, and grew some bad habits but the worst thing of all: i've been completely careless handling the saxophone, and i can hear and feel that it have taking damage - relating to tonequality, intonation and response.
I've dropped the mouthpiece two times i recall.
I put cloth soaked in very hot water on my saxophone before a gig where it was outdoors and very cold - I heard that you had to "warm up the instrument"
I bumped the saxophone in to a door twice. In addition i used to live in a very small dormroom, and the saxophone was in the bag (which is a good one) which were standing horizontal, and then it felt.
Many of you probably shook your head while reading this, but i did the same thing as well. From this point on i will be extremely carefull and gentle with the sax - respecting it and handling like the precious thing it is, as i really enjoy every minute playing it.

I'm going to New York next week, staying only one week. (my first trip to the states, and i'm pretty damned exited).
I don't think there is anyone in DK that are able to restore my mouthpiece - it hasn't taken any damage that i can see, but it sounds and feel like it did. Do you think i will be able to find a good tech that can help me in NY in such short time?