Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a high school student(with a limited budget:x ) and i would like a P. Mauriat Alto. I am a jazz musician (old school Big Band Style:cool: ) and i would like a sax that would give me a vintage sound. I'm leaning tword the "Swing 55" or the "PMSA-67R" or the "system 76" what do you think?:? Thanks for your time!

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
14,268 Posts
"Jimmy": Welcome to SOTW.

Before we go any further, I urge you to change your screen name, unless your real name IS Jimmy Dorsey.

I think it is disrespectful, even though you may not have meant it to be so. I could go on and on, but I think you, and everyone else gets it.

As far as achieving a swing-era sound on a new saxophone, I suppose it can be done. But a person's individual sound comes from years of "shedding" and fooling around with various mouthpiece/reed/horn combos - NOT from buying a new P. Mauriat.

While I don't think the actual brand-name matters, if you want to sound "vintage", then maybe you should buy a vintage saxophone. No guarantees, of course, but it would be a good start. There are plenty of good ones around (Selmer Cigar Cutters, SBA's, Buescher Aristocrats, Conn 6M, etc., etc.). Take a look at Gayle Fredenburgh's www.vintagesax.com for a start. DAVE

·
Banned
4,517 Posts
I have to agree with Dave, go vintage if you want a vintage sound. I own/owned a vintage Alto (I am in the process of selling it), but I feel in love with the vintage key work, and the sound. So much so that I have looked back for almost any new horn that I would like. Also I am in high school as well, and often fight with a limited budget (partly becuase I have too much G.A.S.). You can get a great vintage horn and get it set up perfectly then you can for a new P. Mauriat.

·
The most prolific Distinguished SOTW poster, Forum
27,650 Posts
I seldom disagree with Dave but I've got a few, harummph, alternative thoughts.