Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, so, a few weeks ago, i went to a clinic for jazz alto saxophone and the instructor was amazing. Perfect tone, style, everything. He was playing on a Meyer 5M and a Vandoren ZZ 3 jazz reed , the same exact set up as me. He was also playing a Yamaha but not the same kind as mine. So, my question is, how come he is like 1000000x better than me, and we're pretty much using the same exact setup. What can i do to also get amazing tone like him. I've been playing alto sax for 4 years now. Im in my schools jazz 2 band and i play lead alto. the lead alto in my schools jazz 1 band is amazing. he has super clean tone(no spit sounds). how can i also do that? cause most the time, i play with a spitty tone

·
SOTW Columnist and Forum Contributor 2015-2016
3,832 Posts
Your instructor has most likely been playing for 20+ years (probably longer than that) and has put in A TON of hours on the horn.

You sound like a relative beginner. Do yourself a favor and get a private teacher in your area. After 20 years of practicing 4 hours a day, with private lessons from a professional, you'll sound as good as the instructor.

- Saxaholic

·
Just a guy who plays saxophone.
3,588 Posts
INCOMING!!!:faceinpalm:

Practice and hard work is what will get you there.

As for your tone: Find a sound you like, and work on making it yours.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2016
17,998 Posts
Most definitely different horns have different tones. So that's a significant aspect. Just because your horns are from the same mother ship doesn't mean they are sonically similar. If that was the case, everyone would buy second and third-shelf models instead of the top-shelf ones.....

With that said, people spend tons of time and tons of money on the search for the 'right' horn. Sometimes they do this prematurely.