Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1,566 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A lot of you know I picked up a '35 10m. Even needing repairs, the horn blew my mind. I took the horn to junkdude this morning to drop the horn off for repairs and to pick up some reeds and my morgan 6m for alto.

Well naturally, since I was surrounded by horns I started playing. I picked up a lacquer 6m. Holy crap! That thing was loud! I kept playing and was really digging it. Of course I didn't have the $1,150 (well more like $1,250 with tax) for the horn. Dave told me he'd take my martin and give me the conn 6m and the 6m mouthpiece. I went to breakfast and thought it over. I came back and compared the horns with my series III also.

I decided the conn had so much punch, bite, and projection it would be a perfect big band horn. The series III was kind of inbetween the punchiness of the conn and the mellowness of the martin. I couldn't push the martin as much as either of them. So I figured the I could mellow up the series III if I needed to.

I ended up walking out with the 6m. I've been playing for the past 3 hours and I have absolutely no regrets.

I also A-B'ed my series III with a few Mark VI's. I really, really dug that 90xxx one he had. To me it sounded very similar to my series III, but played a bit easier. My dad and Dave both agreed that the VI had a bit more complexity to the tone, but we both agreed that it would not be worth me selling the series III than spending another 3k for a mark VI, since the differences were very subtle at best.

If I had had more time, I would have played some of the other 10m's, SBA's, TH&C's, and other horns, but oh well. It's amazing how out of all the horns I have played there, none have been bad. It's really hard to make decisions there!

https://junkdude.com/ProductDetail.aspx?id_product=609-that's the 6m I came home with.

·
Forum Contributor 2007-2012, Distinguished SOTW Te
3,321 Posts