Sax on the Web Forum banner

I need some help with endurance and fast!!

7K views 44 replies 27 participants last post by  Qalina 
#1 Ā·
Hey all, I'm a high school rookie. I've been playing alto sax for a few weeks now, and the school band starts in a few weeks. I want to join, but I don't have the endurance to play long pieces one after another. Whenever I practice for a few minutes, my lips get really numb, so much so that I can't even wrap them around my mouthpiece anymore. What kinds of exercises could I do to improve my endurance? I don't think my embouchure is the issue, but I'll have an experienced peer judge me anyways.

Thank you in advance!!

#2 Ā·
Long tones, followed by more long tones!

In case you havenā€™t been introduced to this concept yet it basically means playing a long steady note, concentrating on maintaining a full tone and steady pitch. It is a bit like any form of physical exercise. You push yourself as far as you can each day and gradually increase your strength and endurance. Maybe ask your instructor for more details. I know you are in a hurry but donā€™t rush it!

Bill

#3 Ā·
Long tones, followed by more long tones!

In case you havenā€™t been introduced to this concept yet it basically means playing a long steady note, concentrating on maintaining a full tone and steady pitch. It is a bit like any form of physical exercise. You push yourself as far as you can each day and gradually increase your strength and endurance. Maybe ask your instructor for more details. I know you are in a hurry but donā€™t rush it!

Bill
Thanks Bill, I'll get to practicing right away!

#4 Ā·
Muscles failing is normal.

Think about proper technique while playing. Do not bite down or cheat in any way. Play only until tired. Then stop. Better to play 15 minutes 4 times a day rather than for an hour with your embouchure trashed for 45 minutes of it. Work every day, but do not over work.

Also

Good luck!

#5 Ā·