Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 62 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been playing tenor for about 3-4 years and just the same for bari sax, and i was looking at the forums for the cb's and mostly praised them. I asked around and my buds reccomended the Yamaha YTS-875EX custom. I also went into my local music store and they recommended the the cb T5-L and the Raven. I just want a nice smooth sound that blends well in jazz band and in concert band, I'm also looking for something cheep but if necessary ill pay what it costs.

·
Registered
268 Posts
The best thing to do is to go to a music store and try them out. Of the modern tenors I recently tried, I found the Cannonball to be pretty good, however I liked the Yamaha Z, Yanagisawa 991, and Selmer Series III better. Though when all was said and done, I liked what I had better.

·
Registered
841 Posts
Play as many horns as you can and deside for yourself. One person's "great" horn would be another person's "ok" horn, so if your planning on buying something make sure it is your "great" horn and don't buy it just because a bunch of other people love it.

But yes, the popular opinion is that modern Cannonball's are really good horns and one should avoid the older Cannonball horns.

Both the Yamaha and C-Ball that you mentioned are good, solid instruments, so go play them both and pick what you want, not what everyone else wants.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
AmSaxPlayer: What type of sax do you own?

Any body where can i find the Yamaha Z, Yanagasawa 991, and the Selmer Series III?

·
Registered
841 Posts
Let us know what state/area you are located and we may be able to point you towards some music stores with a good stock of tenor saxophones.

C

·
0 Posts
Check out Keilwerth while your at it as well. Cannonball is usually
available at a lesser price than the other horns mentioned. If you're
value minded or restricted to a budget, you could do a lot worse than Cannonball.

·