Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
7,362 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First off, it's not like I'm inexperienced. I've been playing saxophone for 42 years now. Given my experience in rock and roll bands in the 80s, I would guess something like a third of my total playing time in my life has been on tenor; probably the majority of my saxophone earnings have come from playing tenor.

Yet, I have always found it harder to play the low register on tenor than any other register of any other saxophone. I don't think it's because I have trouble with low register playing in general, or I wouldn't be able to drop pianissimo low Bbs all day long on baritone and bass sax. And I have no trouble with the low register on alto or soprano, either. But anything below about low F just seems stiff and unresponsive on tenor in a way that's not the case for soprano alto baritone or bass sax.

I experience this on any tenor sax I've played; on the full range of mouthpieces I've played. Obviously some are better and some are worse.

There's a poster here "1saxman" who often comments on tenor necks being different because of the double bend. Suddenly it occurred to me - maybe my lifelong finding that the low register of tenor is harder to play well than any other might be related to the neck design of tenor saxophones. Every other sax either has a simple single bend or no bend at all. I know that a curve in an instrument tube has the effect of changing the apparent volume - I think it's that a bent tube acts like a straight tube of greater diameter, though I'm not sure of that.

Does it seem plausible that this inherent nature of the tenor sax neck might be the reason why I always feel like I have to work harder in the tenor low register than in any other register of any other saxophone?

·
Registered
7,362 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·