Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Banned
28,508 Posts
My main tenor since I have played one is a Martin Comm III and the bottom end is the most beautiful thing about this horn. The low Bb is like a large ocean liner coming into port after a long voyage. He just comes rumbling out full blast from scratch, and all the other notes from C1 down are the same. I'm no pro but I certainly have no problem blowing those notes at any volume I want from a whisper to a blast and they are really something else. I only say that because every other sax player I have played with either in the 6 horn combo I was in or at the jam sessions I played at here for several years used to look at my sax after hearing it with this look of wonder. One guy I got to know and play with had a King Cleveland. Not a bad horn but it just couldn't match the Martin for richness of tone or the body and complexity of the notes that came out. He asked me to play it and I let him and he then played his, looked at his and shook his head. He had heard and felt the difference and wasn't happy. The following week he was playing alto.

Another similar experience was in combo where the newest member to join was playing a Thomann Antique Tenor. Not an expensive horn by any stretch. It was passable but no match for the tone of mine. He let me play it and I ran some arpeggios up and down and it was easy to play although not elating except when I tried lower altissimo and blew right up to G3 like it was nothing. On my Martin that is something that has taken years to even get halfway decent at. I told my tech about this last week when I booked some time for him to do some work fixing leaky pads for me and he explained it as follows.