Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
172 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been posting here for about 5 1/2 years, which is how long I've been playing my tenor, and last week, I finally got to play in front of an audience. There's a brand new community big band in my small town. I know the director pretty well, and he asked me to join though he'd never heard me play. 5 weeks of once-a- week rehearsal, 13 songs to get down in that time, and I did it! Lots and lots of practice for me; most of the other players are way farther along than I am so I took my cues from them. I don't think I embarrassed myself too badly, and I had a blast. Managed to get my picture on the front page of the paper 3 times; I guess an old lady playing the tenor is somehow newsworthy. Our show kicked off a weekend long jazz festival with a couple of pro-level performances. That part was pretty humbling. I still have a LOT to learn--and I'm ready to get down to it.

·
Premium Member
15,480 Posts
Thats great news!
I remember my first gig, and it was scary and a blast at the same time.
Keep performing in front of a live audience, and it wont bother you after a bit. In fact, you may even thrive to do it more and more because of the joy it can bring.

Let the journey take you where it takes you, and have fun along the way!!!!!!

·
Registered
708 Posts
Sounds awesome, congratulations 🙂

·
Distinguished SOTW Member.
7,606 Posts
Congratulations - I hope you have many more to come. I've been gigging since the 60s and it's still the most fun I can have with my clothes on.

·
Registered
419 Posts
It was newsworthy and big congratulations. It sounds like you were prepared and had a great time. I bet your feet are not touching the ground.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
TENOR, soprano, alto, baritone
7,416 Posts