Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone.

So, i've been playing for a few years, not super seriously, but i end up playing quite a bit for the theater company i work for. It's been enough years that i have a pretty good tone, i think, and i can read music due to piano lessons as a kid, and i can memorize tunes pretty well. I'm beginning to understand harmonizing (well, kind of...but i guess that's a different topic). But: i can't solo worth a damn. Even on songs that i can play in my sleep, it feels a lot more like rote memorization than a true understanding of the music. I'm also not too swell on licks and fills, that sort of thing.

So my question is: what can i do to practice to improve this? Sometimes i feel like i just need better musical theory understanding: if i were to drill keys into my head so that i always knew what key i was playing in at any given point in a song, would that help? Would learning bass lines help?

I've had it explained to me that in any given key there are certain notes to land on that will always sound good, but i don't reeeally understand which notes they are or why. When i can produce a non terrible sounding solo, it's usually just a very slight variation on the melody, with pretty uninteresting stuff tempo-wise. The only success i've ever really had is soloing on balkan type stuff. Not sure why, but it seems harder to play a sour note.

So: Any and all advice is appreciated. I know, practice, practice, practice: but i try to practice, try to play the melody of a tune i know and then improvise, and, generally it sounds... pretty bad. This has been kind of a huge mental block with me for, well, years now, as the various bands i've played in pretty much expect soloing once you achieve a certain level of ability.