Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok guys, a little background information, I am a high school student, I've been playing four years. My school has a well known marching program and concert band, but over the years I've found my true love is jazz, (which my school offers). Until earlier this year (October) I've used my fathers beat up old Bundy 2 horn which had poor intonation among other things. I bought a used YAS-32 (European YAS-52) which I love. It is in like new condition, hardly any scratches or anything. (It could probably use some new pads down the road as some are rather dried out but overall I love my horn and It's even more special that I bought it myself. Anyway I want to upgrade from my 4C (sound like a familiar story?) and I'd like to keep the cost under 200$ which I think is doable. I have looked at multiple hard rubber pieces and even a few ebonite ones but I cant decide. My band directors wouldn't have any advice as they didn't study woodwind or saxophone or anything. Aside from basic student horn rental companies,(that don't have saxophone mouthpieces, trust me I called them all) there aren't any sax shops within a reasonable driving distance from me (northern Michigan) and I'm not sure what to do. Everyone else in the saxophone section uses the 4C and nobody else has the "jazzy" sound if you will. I've looked at the hard rubber Jody jazz, Vandoren V16, V16 s+, Java, jumbo java,Meyer, D'Addario Select Jazz, etc and I think I'd like a 6 or 7 opening. If anyone went through the same situation/or could just offer some advice it would be much appreciated...
Thanks guys,
-Largemouth21

Quick Side note, here is a video of a player who has the same style I'm shooting for. Smooth jazz I guess

·
Registered
3,756 Posts
If you had a credit card, you could order them all or just a couple from WWBW.com and then keep the one you like. Send the rest back.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #3