Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
144 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've recently started to notice how many of the current tenor players are using Otto Link HR mouthpieces which have been modified to some degree. These players include Chris Cheek, John Ellis, Mark Turner, (Chris Potter used to play a HR), and others. I've been playing one of these pieces for several months, and just figured this out about these players a few days ago. What i'm wondering is...obviously these guys are not playing stock pieces, they've been modified to some degree; what kind of modification would they have done? And how would Turner's mouthpieces differ from Potter's, or Ellis'.

I own several pieces that have been worked on by different people, some more well known than other...but I've always bought them from someone who had the work done. I've never actually paid for the modification directly, or had any experience with mouthpiece work.

So, I'm really not sure how certain things will change a mouthpieces performance. I'm not even sure I know what about a mouthpiece can be modified.

Any help or info relating to different modifications to mouthpieces would be great, specifically the differences between how these guys might have their pieces shaped.

Thanks

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
2,228 Posts
This is a huge topic with alot to read through.

http://forum.saxontheweb.net/search.php?searchid=1805327

Thats 16 pages of whats in that section on SOTW. I believe most of the refacers are mentioned there.

Mojobari formed a yahoo mouthpiece discussion group as well you can find a link from his home page.

Alot of the modifying is because they are damaged, or they were not made to specs in the factory or someone has a sound they want to more easily produce. Most of the work done in not radical, it can make the mouthpiece easier to play in general and more even toned throughout the registers.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
1,305 Posts