Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 111 Posts

·
Registered
2,431 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I play clarinet, alto and tenor sax. I recently got myself a soprano sax, (nice Christmas present). I'm interested in how members might describe the sound/tone of the soprano sax. Because my wife can't stand the higher range of the sop, I'm concentrating on the low "Bb" to second "G" range. It has a special sound to my ears, quite different that my alto or tenor sound, and not much like my clarinet sound. I started this thread because I thought forum members would notice and put forward some ideas of this sound.
I'm not a pro player, that's for sure...just curious.
Thanks for your ideas.:|

·
Distinguished SOTW Coffee Guru
38,850 Posts
I am not quite sure what you are asking.

The soprano sax has certainly some common traits with the Oboe family, in particular the Cor Anglais .

If you compare THAT sound with the soprano saxophone, you see how they are similar but the cor anglais has an edgier and more “ reedy” and nasal sound which, in truth, is sometimes how some people play the soprano.

If you look at how complex the oboe cor anglais is , it is easy to follow the thought process which gave origin to the saxophones in the mind of A.Sax. He wanted to create easier to play instruments ( compared to an oboe or all the other double reeds) which would be able to rival in sound volume with the typical brass instruments in a military marching band ( better than clarinets ).

This was the first use of the instruments although almost immediately many “ modern” composers took to use the saxophone because of its more modern sound but more or less placing them in the range of several double reeds.

for the second video you can close your eyes and think that you are listening to saxophones, though different the similarities are obvious.

also now compare the same piece played with soprano and Oboe

·
Registered
2,431 Posts
Discussion Starter #3