Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I have a couple of questions regarding playing Jazz music. Saxophone is not a new concept to me, having played for more than 10 years and finished musical high school (now I am studying physics :) ).

But, most of the time I just played classical music and while I love classical saxophone, I would also like to start playing Jazz. Here comes the problem, because I don't know how to start. First, my goal is not to play some ultra-modern free jazz, like Peter Brotzman or Ornette Coleman, it would be more like dixieland, and early John Coltrane. So, how can I start? How can I get the "jazz sound"? I play a Selmer Serie III alto, so gear is no problem, I am technically on top of things (in the past I played Tomassi concerto, Glazounov concerto, Hindemith Sonate,...).

My brain is just not working fast enough for jazz, or so it seems :) :treble::line2::line3:
Oh, I forgot to add, that I plan to buy a tenor sax in the future, but not for a while...

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2014
2,354 Posts
start by listening to jazz. a lot. and intensively. so that you can hear ? sing every note of your favourite solo's. after that listen to what the bass players is doing, sing the bass lines, try to work out the voicings of the piano players, listen to how the drums complement the rythm.
One Cd will keep you busy for quite a bit that way.

·
Registered
1,552 Posts
What do you mean exactly with a "jazz sound"? There are many different players with many different sounds: dark, bright, soft...

The best way to start is by listening to a lot of jazz and when you find a sound you like, try to emulate it.
This could mean you have to buy another mouthpiece or to use other reeds, but not necessarily.
It all depends on the sound concept you're aiming for.

It wil take lots of practice, so be prepared! :)

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
2,384 Posts