Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Magnificent Sax Masters, I have come with small, humble question to beg your advice. I am kneeling before you, my Masters, please help me know where to find the proper blue paint to reblue these springs. How is it possible to fix these springs, as shown in the attached photo? Does it help if I have aluminum foil?

·
SOTW Member
3,394 Posts
I'm no repair expert but if the springs are really rusty and corroded seems you would simply have them replaced..yours don't look blued to me, they look pretty good actually from your pic. Cleaning with a bit of fine steel wool and then oiling them should fix them right up. Now let's hear from the real experts..:bluewink:

·
Distinguished Technician & SOTW Columnist. RIP, Yo
17,204 Posts
If there is something wrong with those springs, the photo does not show it.

The blue colour is a result of the heat treatment they receive at manufacture. You could attempt to do re-do it but the result is most likely to be wrecked springs - either brittle or too soft/bendy.
(Basically, you polish the metal surface bright and shiny, then heat it until the spring turns just the right colour. It's tricky for small items - you need excellent temperature control. Google heat treatment of steel)

If you want a blue colour and somewhat better rust protection, especially if subsequently oiled, then you could go to any gun shop and buy some vile liquid used for blueing steel. (Wash it off well after using it.) I have no idea what that would do to the brass though, so you would be best to remove the springs to do it. And then you are likely to break some.

·
Distinguished SOTW Coffee Guru
39,169 Posts
I too am not a tech, so don’t need any of the reverence.

Indeed, like Cashsax says, are you sure that your springs were blue to start with? Which saxophone are you talking about?