Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good morning everyone, I've been practicing saxophone for 7 months, I practice longtone for 1,5-2 hours each day. But still I feel like I dont get that "centered" tone, it doesnt have a "body". FYI I use Dukoff D7, Rovner Versa, and Java Red 2,5
Do you have any tips on how to develop my sound to be more "centered"?

·
Registered
517 Posts
If you can go to a music store that allows you to try different mouthpieces and see if you like something better than what you have now. Try mouthpieces with different inside shapes from the Dukoff. The Dukoff has a high baffle that is mostly for a brighter Dave Sanborn style of playing.

·
Registered
3,017 Posts
The player's concept of sound, pressurized air, embouchure, and oral cavity are all of the elements that must work together. The best exercise I know of is to play middle C with the biggest sound you can make using the fingering for low C without the octave key, then switch to the regular C fingering and try to make it sound as full and rich as the "long fingered" C. Keep going back and forth working to make both sound the same. Do the same exercise with the fingering for low B and Bb. In my experience you can't "buy" a centered tone by changing equipment. It has to be an "inside job". :)

·
Distinguished SOTW Coffee Guru
38,875 Posts
The player's concept of sound, pressurized air, embouchure, and oral cavity are all of the elements that must work together. The best exercise I know of is to play middle C with the biggest sound you can make using the fingering for low C without the octave key, then switch to the regular C fingering and try to make it sound as full and rich as the "long fingered" C. Keep going back and forth working to make both sound the same. Do the same exercise with the fingering for low B and Bb. In my experience you can't "buy" a centered tone by changing equipment. It has to be an "inside job". :)
indeed.