Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I've been playing saxophone for about four years. The first two years were mostly classical, then I got into jazz. Last summer I decided take the plunge and get a YAS-62 Alto Sax. I also bought a JodyJazz HR* mouthpiece. I'm playing on Vandoren 3 reeds at the moment.

I think my sound has a west-coast jazz feel to it, but I've always wanted to play with a more funky/smooth sound, something like this recording (an excerpt from Retro Funk by Souljazz Of Fortune):
View attachment 29594

Is it possible to change my embouchure to achieve this sound? If not, what mouthpiece/ligature/etc do you recommend?

Thanks in advance,
Steve P.

·
Forum Contributor 2017
7,472 Posts
I recommend Jumbo Java A45, Vandoren Masters ligature and a 2 1/2 reed.

Oh yeah, I almost forgot I have this set-up for sale. :)

B

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Haha I'll check it out. So, generally, smooth jazz is played with a bigger mouthpiece and somewhat softer reeds?

·
Forum Contributor 2017
7,472 Posts
The larger the tip generally speaking the softer the reed. However, primarily recommending the Jumbo Java A45 because of its high wedge baffle for brighter tone, faster response and ease of playing altissimo. I play an Jumbo Java A75 because I like large chamber and high baffle pieces on alto for funk and smooth jazz playing.

B

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2013
11,501 Posts
I don't know that I'd characterize the sound clip you provided as funky. I thought it was fairly bright. I also thought it was interesting to see how quickly you jumped at trying to categorize an entire genre of music into a single stereo type of mouthpiece and reed combination.

If you try to define a style as funky SJ, I would think more of Eric Marienthal but wouldn't lock him down with that category because he's more versatile than that.