Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 83 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am not a pro sax player but I am an accomplished harmonica player, including chromatic. I've been messing around with sax for about 6 years and have been able to sit in on some rock/blues/soul tunes. I recently started having difficulty playing in the higher register on my Buescher True Tone alto. Clearly the octave key does not respond like it does on my Silvertone alto, so I assume that the horn needs adjustment.

A tech at a well known music store checked out the horn and told me that it needs a repad job....that it's leaking everywhere. It seemed to play fine 6 months ago..... Also of note is that when he first looked at the horn he said it was a Conn. Upon correcting him I immediately suspected than the word Conn should have been in lower case and with only one "n". He went on to say that an adjustment would be about $100 and a repad about $600 and a full recondition about $1100. He also noted that one pad was missing a resonator.

My question here is: what sort of visual evidence would indicate that the pads need replacement besides obvious things like rips or stuff that would prevent a proper function? (there are none such defects visible). All I really wanted was for a tech to adjust the horn so that all of the keys/pads are properly aligned.

The last comment about the tech is that after I noted that the eBay seller I got the horn from included a short video of him demonstrating the item, playing well, top to bottom, the tech said that he could have been using a "big" mouthpiece that would have hidden the horn's flaws. That comment smelled a bit too.

The horn year of manufacture was 1922. Thanks and sorry for the long winded post.

·
Registered
407 Posts