Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 166 Posts

·
Registered
142 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a High School Sophomore and I want to major in music, but my dad is totally opposing me of majoring music and it is not a real major, what can I say to convince him?

·
Premium Member
3,302 Posts
By spending the next several years practicing 2-4 hours/day and pursuing it with all the passion that you can muster. If that doesn't make your case, then nothing will.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Logician
25,993 Posts
I'm a High School Sophomore and I want to major in music, but my dad is totally opposing me of majoring music and it is not a real major, what can I say to convince him?
Pay for college yourself...

·
Indistinguishable Resident Buescher Bigot and Foru
8,588 Posts
As an HS sophomore, you have plenty of time to work on it -- or choose a different path. When I was your age, I was convinced I wanted to be a brain surgeon. That didn't happen.

·
Distinguished SOTW member/, Official SOTW Sister
19,215 Posts
Don't worry about convincing your parents about anything just yet.
You're only a sophmore. You'll change your mind at least 4 more times before you're a senior.
If you don't, then go with Grumps suggestion and pay for school yourself.
That way if you flunk out, decide to change your major 5 times, or take 10 years to complete a 5 year degree you won't be wasting your parents money. ;)

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2011
13,021 Posts