Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

I have been playing sax on and off for a few years and so far have not been able to produce any altissimo, although I have been able to get a few harmonics. My main instrument is flute but I have a couple of sax students (I clearly state it is not my main instrument and plan to 'pass them on' when they get to a certain level) so as they progress and ask me more questions, I need to get some answers.

Firstly, how often is altissimo used in general playing - classical and jazz, solo and ensemble? And at what level would you consider it neccessary to learn? Is it even neccessary?

Also, I know on flute, once in the screeching register, I have not memorised many of the fingerings as they are so rarely used. I would usually just write the fingering on the music if there was a super high note to remind me. Do you all know the altissimo fingerings as well as you do the normal register notes?

Thank you!

·
Registered
144 Posts
In general, I think the altissimo range is something for soloists who find it useful. But i've never seen a piece of music (aside from maybe a few Dave Douglas charts) that directly call for any notes in the altissimo range. The fingerings for altissimo vary between kinds of horns, and even individual horns of the same model. But there are some fingerings that generally work from what I've seen and heard.