Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
380 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, again, my friends.

I don't think I have asked this question, but forgive me if I have.

I have been performing at wedding receptions for about ten years, using pre-recorded accompaniment on an mp3 player or cell phone. I cannot play hardly anything by ear, and rely extensively on sheet music, chord symbols, and so on, as I am more of an intermediate-level player than a pro.

Consequently, at the conclusion of one song, I go and get the sheet music for the next one on the list, and recently have started using an automatic playlist on the mp3 player which pulls up the next song automatically. Still, until I get the sheet music ready, and sometimes spread out four pages on the stand, I cannot play the next song just yet.

In fact, my scores are in 8.5x11 notebook binders by genre, and some are 9x12 in separate booklets, but once I find the binder or book that I need, it is a question of finding the song inside, placing it on the stand, and adjusting my mixing console for playback. ONCE in a while I even have to remove the song from a binder, and spread out four or five sheets on the stand.

Oftentimes the host himself or some other guest that I have not seen in months, will come up and want to chat with me, in which I always tell him politely that I do not have time to chat at the moment, as I have to keep the room filled with music.

All these things add to the delay between songs, so I am always searching for ways to reduce this silent time.

My question is this: in a professional environment at a wedding reception, how much silent time is permissible, on average between ever couple of songs? How much is too much? Surely you aren't as good as a CD, with only five seconds of dead time between songs, are you?