Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Banned
1,501 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This probably has been covered elsewhere, is probably something a good teacher could deal with, plus I'm not even sure it's useful to ask here, given the individual differences in mouth structure and even the way people hold their horns.

Although I am quite happy with the sound and control I've got, I've been told (by someone across country, working on a mouthpiece of mine) that the bite marks on my toothpatch indicate I am not taking in enough of the mouthpiece beak when I play.

For reference, I play a tenor sax usually with a metal Link STM 7 (or Link variant) with a Hemke 3 reed. More importantly, perhaps, I've never had a teacher, just self-taught going on about 6 years now. Also, I have a relatively small mouth/jaw set for my overall body (head) size. Although I have noticed I can get a fuller, ringing sound to the bell notes when I take in more of the beak, in general I have better control of the reed with my usual, shallow embouchure. I suspect I'd need a much softer reed if I were going to swallow more of the mouthpiece when I play.

I measured the location of MY toothmarks, and they are typically around a quarter-inch in from the mouthpiece tip. I have seen plenty of other, used pieces, and would say that on average, the toothmarks on those indicate a player who took in perhaps twice as much beak as I do.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
2,068 Posts
And I agree with Barone.

Taking in more mouthpiece is, at first, very difficult, it seems unnatural and uncomfortable. Your sound gets spread and out of control, and obviously this isn't an immdediately desired result, so you'll tend to shy away from taking that much mouthpiece.