Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
1,959 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've never been much of a mouthpiece fanatic. I've owned a few through the years. Some I got through trades, as "gifts" and some I bought on the recommendation of someone I trusted.

By the time that I bought my own tenor (my school system lent an instrument to anyone who wanted to play) I had been playing clarinet and alto saxophone for several years. My own new Mk VI came with a Selmer C*. It didn't take me long to decide that it was the wrong mouthpiece for me. I'm guessing that it was about 12 hours of practice. I no longer have that mouthpiece, so I don't know if I made a bad decision to change to a Berg Larson. One was a 120/1 and i forget what the other one was. I practiced and performed on those mouthpieces for a few years before I changed to a Link 8*. That was quite a change and quite a challenge. I played that mouthpiece almost exclusively for many years.

I mentioned in another thread that I had a custom-made Northway that worried me because I laid out a big chunk of change for it but I didn't get the sound that I wanted out of it.
It was also difficult to play. The tip opening was wider than the Link 8*. I practiced on the Northway for quite a while before I performed on it. I used the Northway mouthpiece for performance and the Link for session work because the Link blended better for section work.

I'm just wondering this: How much work do you put into a mouthpiece before you get the sound that you want or before you move on to another? (Tell the truth)

·
Registered
549 Posts