Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
382 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I started playing over two years ago. I play 10-12 hours a week. I've been playing a 2 1/2 Marca reed on my soprano for what's got to be at least 3 months. It sounds as good now as it did initially.

Is this totally weird or can a cane reed last this long? I'm doing absolutely nothing to preserve it. (If it makes any difference, the mp is a Super Sessions E and the horn is a Selmer Serie III.) Thanks in advance.

·
Distinguished Member and Forum Contributor 2008
6,395 Posts
Until it dies. :cry:

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
4,147 Posts
I had these two Vandoren #3 alto reeds that lasted a year once; I eventually threw them away because I got bored and wanted new reeds.

·
6,395 Posts
If you have an 4 hour gig, it usually craps out during the second tune. That's why I try to keep at least 4 decent reeds in rotation in my reed holder.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
2,312 Posts
Some reeds can seemingly sound and play well for a long time. Still I think they loose something after a couple or few days. Some richness or depth. So I always like to use a fresh reed. I very rarely will play on a reed for more than a week.

·
Registered
1,567 Posts
saxmanglen said:
If you have an 4 hour gig, it usually craps out during the second tune. That's why I try to keep at least 4 decent reeds in rotation in my reed holder.
I always kept 8 going at a time until I had problems with all the reeds in my case going moldy(full-on long hairy white fuzz. Nasty.). This has happened several times, so until I've got a reed storage system worked out where this won't happen I'm only keeping 3 in rotation. (Of course these were baritone reeds, so it's very expensive and frustrating.)

·
Registered
382 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Thank you for your replies. Here's what I'm considering the take-home message to be: the life of a reed is EXTREMELY variable. Thanks again.

·
Registered
957 Posts