Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
174 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Dumb question I guess but I am still learning on what can or cannot be adjusted so bear with me. :baby:

Is there anything in the keyworks of a Barone Vintage that limit how light its actions can be set at compared to relative to a Cannonball for exemple? Can all all horn be setup to the same lightnesn?

I am asking because I tried a Cannonbal BBSS last weekend and while I prefer the tone of the Barone Vintage I really liked the lighter action of the Cannonball. I haven't spent much time with either yet and I am shopping to get a tenor this summer.

Thanks

·
Banned
1,611 Posts
The way to lighten a horn is to re-set the spring tension and any qualified tech can do that for you. You want to make sure that the keys that are in the closed position during rest are tight because you can literally blow them open if you set them too light, especially low D#, low C# and the side keys.

·
Registered
1,526 Posts
Yes, spring adjustment can be set to light if that is your preference. I prefer a very snappy, fast action with a heavy spring tension.

Les Arbuckle setup my Barone Vintage Tenor recently doing this & also used heat-hardened Ultra-Suede on in place of many of the buffer corks. This firmed up the action alot and it now feels better than ever. I also have Saxgourmet RooPads, which are very firm under the fingers.

I guess I am all about firm. :)

·
Registered
174 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
The way to lighten a horn is to re-set the spring tension and any qualified tech can do that for you. You want to make sure that the keys that are in the closed position during rest are tight because you can literally blow them open if you set them too light, especially low D#, low C# and the side keys.
In that respect all keyworks are equals? All can be as light as one another or are some that requires a higher minimal tension to work?

·
Registered
174 Posts
Discussion Starter #5