Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
307 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been playing for a few years, and every time I wear a polo or dress shirt (Every concert and performance...) the neckstrap is terrible to try and wear, I'm constantly squirming and adjusting it trying to make it comfortable, but it just messes up the collar.

How do YOU wear your neckstrap? What kind of neckstrap works best for a shirt with a collar?

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
13,889 Posts
Depends on the horn. The heavier the horn the wider the strap - but I don't play neotech, too wide. Basic Ray Hyman model for sop & alto, DeJacque for tenor. I had a neotech for outdoor gigs, but it was uncomfortable for many reasons. I gave it away.

I put the strap under the collar where the tie goes.

·
Premium Member
4,849 Posts
If I'm wearing a tie, the strap is outside the collar. No tie, under the collar. Obviously, if you're going to wear the strap under the collar, then a thick strap is out. I use a Planet Waves strap which is comfortable either way. (Man I wish I had bought a few more of those before they stopped making them!) Rico has a very similar strap to the Planet Waves, but they're not thick at all, and not very comfortable with a tenor.

·
Banned
4,517 Posts
I use a Neotech on my Alto, becuase I like to move it around when I play.
But for Tenor I like the neckstrap that came with the horn a Ray Haymen. They just go outside the collar.

·
SOTW Administrator
26,216 Posts
I'm a slob. I never pay attention. I don't think I put it under, ever, and it's very expensive to get me to wear a tie;)

·
SOTW Administrator
26,216 Posts
Carbs said:
Do you do Funerals in that shirt?
The next Funeral I plan on attending is my own. So the answer is--I might.;)

·
Forum Contributor 2009 & Mouthpiece Patch Mogul
4,054 Posts