Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have recently gotten serious about the humidity factor of storing reeds, I used to just put them in a cheapo reed guard and that was it but I have had a rico reed vitalizer case for about 6 months now and I like it. My problem is that I am in my second semester of music school and my main saxophone is alto, I am playing bari in Jazz band and tenor in wind ensemble. I have more reeds than I can store in my single reed case so I have been trying some alternative solutions to storing reeds. I have been storing my bari sax reeds in a ziploc bag (name brand one for airtight-ness) with a couple drops of water in the bag to keep humidity up. The second thing I did, is with my rico reserve reeds (my unplayed ones from the box) I have put them in another ziploc bag with a reed revitalizer pack until I take one out to play it.

Summary for those who didn't want to read my monologue: How do you store your reeds with humidity levels in mind?

·
Registered
278 Posts
In mason jars in the plastic reed guard with about a half ounce of vodka.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Do you feel that the vodka does something different for the reed? Or is it to keep mold away?

·
Registered
2,328 Posts
I just use those inexpensive plastic reed guard (does Rico make them now?) and store in the case. I soak a few minutes in fresh water before I start playing. Have a little tackle-box for extra reeds, mouthpieces, ligatures, leak light, etc.

Not sure I'd keep them in an air-tight bag like that, if there was any bacteria left on the reed might get funky real fast that way. I've seen that happen with toothbrushes before...the guys who use jars and stuff, I can see that since it's easy to change out the water, etc.

·
Forum Contributor 2010-2016
1,706 Posts
I give my Legeres (clarinet, soprano, alto, tenor and baritone) a quick wipe and leave them on the mouthpiece.

·
Registered
20 Posts