Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I Have Been Playing For 5 Years .(alto).
How Do I Know When It's Time To Progress To The Next Size Reed And What Will I Gain From A Higher Reed (i Use A Ricco 2).
Also Can Any One Give Me An Idea On How Good (or Bad ) The Plastic Coated Reeds Are.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2014
1,370 Posts
I don't buy into the theory that you need to 'progress' to a higher reed number to sound better. You have been playing for 5 years and if you like the way you sound on a Rico 2 then there is no reason to change. I think if you find a reed / mouthpiece / player combo that works then there is no reason to change. I have been playing a while, and I use 2 1/2s with a fairly closed mouthpiece.
As far as plastic coated reeds, I havent tried them in a long time, but I remember them being about as picky as cane. I use synthetic reeds (Legere) and found them to be pretty decent and consistant.
One more thought... the only time I try different reeds is when I start playing around with different mouthpieces. Once I settle into something I try and stick with it.

·
Registered
398 Posts
The more you play, the more your embouchure gets developed to a certain extend of course. If you add some embouchure exercises to strengthen your muscles around your mouth you may well be able to "move up". This is something you have to experiment with. If you feel comfortable and you like your sound there is no need to change the reed strength. I started out many years ago on a 2 1/2 and I'm now at a 3 using an Otto Link 8*. Nothing drastic. I feel very comfortable for years now. Why change?