Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I have been using a Meyer NY 6 mouthpiece for the past 3 years and wanted a bigger tip opening to get a bigger sound. After some research I purchased a DAddario Select Jazz M7. However when trying to tune with band the pitch is high, I have to pull out the mouthpiece almost to the tip of the sax neck which is not good because it is not stable as it’s too lose. What should I do? Different reeds, which one, I tried Vandoren 2.5 and Hemke 3. Thank you

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Forum Contributor 2014
28,632 Posts
Does one of the pieces have a much longer shank than the other?....

·
Grafton alto | Martin Comm III tenor
29,534 Posts
Seems like that new mouthpiece may not be the best one for you. The bigger sound is more down to you working on getting a big sound rather than relying on the mouthpiece for that. Might be worth sticking with the in tune Mayer and working on your air support. Also no harm in trying different reeds.

I have found that a bigger tip opening doesn’t necessarily equate to bigger sound.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Forum Contributor 2014
28,632 Posts
Seems like that new mouthpiece may not be the best one for you. The bigger sound is more down to you working on getting a big sound rather than relying on the mouthpiece for that.

I have found that a bigger tip opening doesn’t necessarily equate to bigger sound.
Yes. [I usually stayed with the same family and just went up or down a number/size.]

·
Registered
1,761 Posts
Some tend to bite down on the bigger tip, bending the reed to get the opening down to what you're used to and making it sharp. If you want to keep that piece, you're going to have to change your technique.

·
Registered
S: SA II. A+T: Martin HC1 T: Mark VI A:39 King Zephyr B: Martin HC imperial
119 Posts