Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was thinking about starting up flute because I think jazz and rock flute is the coolest thing, but how hard would it be to learn it? I've been playing sax for 5 years now and I heard that the fingering are very close.

·
The most prolific Distinguished SOTW poster, Forum
27,650 Posts
The fingerings are about the same in the first two octaves and just about everything else is different, LOL. But that shouldn't stop you if that's what you want to do.

Holding it comfortably, getting a good sound, control and intonation in the upper register and getting a wide dynamic range are what I find the most challenging. But considering how similar the fingerings are, that leaves you time to work on the other stuff when you are first learning.

·
Distinguished Technician & SOTW Columnist. RIP, Yo
17,204 Posts
Compared with everything else, the fingering is a total non-issue. You quickly learn that.

Getting an embouchure and breath pressure that works well, with decent tone throughout the range, and decent control of pitch and volume in the third octave, are far, far, far more difficult than fingering issues. And this seems to be especially true for players going from a reed instrument, but definitely possible.

A lot of sax players have found the following to be helpful. (It is also accessible from the SOTW home page.):

http://www.saxontheweb.net/Resources/FluteLessons.html

·
Registered
111 Posts
hi,

just wanted to add that Gordon's lessons are teaching me to play flute...and they are working well enough for me to recommend them!

after 3 days i was able to play the 1st and 2nd octave in a manner in which non-musicians thought was great. i know better, it takes time to produce good tone etc. ...

finally, it worked for me to take a weekend, and pick up and practice the flute 6-8 times a day for 5-10 minute intervals...you need to rest your arms, neck, back, hands and mouth...