Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 20 of 75 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Dear all,

I am new here. I am a woodwind teacher who is looking to add the alto saxophone to the list of instruments I play. I have been browsing this site for information on mouthpieces and instruments.

How crucial is the high F# key for classical playing? I will be playing exclusively pieces for saxophone and piano, predominately French pieces by the likes of Françaix, Maurice, Milhaud and Bozza.

·
Registered
545 Posts
High F# is normally quite easy to get with other fingerings, but I find that in some passages, particularly fast runs, the F# key comes very handy. I wouldn't do without it.

·
Registered
5,588 Posts
There are only two reasons NOT to get a high F# key:

1. You are addicted to the sound of a particular type of vintage horn that doesn't have a high F# key.

2. After playing horns with and without the key, you have decided that for you, the high F# key is unnecessary, and may even negatively affect a horn's tone quality. Some experienced jazz players seem to feel this way. Few classical players do. This reasoning also seems to be applied to tenors more often than to altos, probably because altissimo is easier on tenor.

As a complete beginner, you don't fall into either of these categories, so your decision is easy: get a high F# key. Don't conclude that you can do without it until you've learned what it can do.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2013
7,356 Posts
There are only two reasons NOT to get a high F# key:

1. You are addicted to the sound of a particular type of vintage horn that doesn't have a high F# key.