Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Banned
353 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings. I have been playing sax for 3 years and my tone has not changed a bit.

What can I do to get rid of a thin tone on alto sax? I use my diaphragm properly.

Is it something with my mouthpiece?

I use a Yamaha 4C. I have learnt that the tip opening is narrow. I use Rico#3 reeds. I plan to switch to Strength#3 Vandoren ZZ reeds , since I have been playing alto sax for a while now.

I want to upgrade to a Meyer 8M.

I would also like to know what strength of reeds would I have to use If I were to upgrade to a Meyer 8M?

I feel like I need to play on a much wider mouthpiece with a wide tip opening to acheive a much improved, brighter sound.

I really want to get rid of this thin boring tone.:|

I want to sound like Phillip Martin, one of my influences on alto sax.

I want to have a warm and clear tone.

·
Registered
294 Posts
What's your practice routine? As many people here will undoubtedly tell you, the setup can help your sound, but it's really up to you if you want to change it. Find a favorite player and emulate them, spend more time on long tones, the list is nearly endless...which makes it seem daunting to many players.

·
Registered
562 Posts
Play tenor. Mayho

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
2,144 Posts
I want to upgrade to a Meyer 8M.
Why? Have you ever tried to play an 8M...(or anything even close to an 8M)? I seriously question whether you could handle it.
I've been playing for over 40 years and a Meyer 8M would be way more than I need. Not that I couldn't play it. I just don't need that much mouthpiece. After playing for ONLY three years, I would suggesting looking more in the 5M range if you want to switch to a Meyer.

I feel like I need to play on a much wider mouthpiece with a wide tip opening to acheive a much improved, brighter sound.