Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Banned
4,517 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just got back from the Tech. with my Alto, and I started playing. And holy Crap, this 800 is crazy good. It played perfectly the full range of the horn. It needs to go back, becuase the High F# key isn't working, and I would like to get that to happen. But other than that its great. Nice tone all the way up and down the horn. Tuning is off becuase I can't push my mouthpiece in all the way, but DANG. I highly recomend these horns.
Anybody else have this expierence with these horns?

~Carbs

·
Registered
1,880 Posts
Yanagisawa makes VERY nice altos. I'm having a blast with my A991UL (not to mention my SC991S). Man, Yanagisawa altos and sopranos are truly awesome.

I remember trying a friend's A900 back in 2001 and was blown away by it. I've always liked Yanagisawa. Their horns have a really nice lean quality.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2012
2,110 Posts
Carbs you have discovered the beauty of Yanagisawa, congratulations! You're really going to like it, but the tuning shouldn't be that far off with either your C** or Runyon. Have your tech look at it again. Is this the one you were asking about earlier for something like $300??? If so you got a steal!

Again, Congrats!

·
Banned
4,517 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Yeah, this is my $300 dollar Axe. It is simply amazing. I will bring it in sometime next week, to get the High F# key worked on. ITs not totally important for it to be working but it is still nice. The reason I think my tuning may be shot is that the neck cork is to fat and just needs to be pushed in alittle for my S8-C**, or I might just check out the Runyon on it, I haven't done that yet. But Still Holy Crap, and I am a Selmer Man mostly.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
3,875 Posts
$300? Yeah, that's a steal. I got my 880 for $750 and consider that a steal since I see people on Craigslist selling Yamaha 23's for that much (or at least trying to).

·