Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
194 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I'm a Canadian high school student looking for a saxophone to buy. I've played for 4 years but haven't bought one yet. Right now I have found a Conn 22M (700$), a Bundy II (500$), Kielworth ST-90 (800), and a Jupiter STS-687 (575$). If you have other suggestions they'd also be appreciated, my budget is 800$ and I also want to know if buying from eBay is a good idea (none of my suggestions are off ebay). Thanks

·
Distinguished SOTW member/, Official SOTW Sister
19,426 Posts
Ebay is not the way for a high school kid to go, unless you or your parents have pockets deep enough to afford putting more money into the horn for adjustments/repairs after it arrives.
For you it would probably be best to find a good horn somewhat locally that you can play before deciding to hand over your hard earned cash. OR... One a little farther away that the seller will let you return after a few days trial period.
Any of the horns you have listed will work for the average HS kid. BUT depending on what you've been playing they may not work for you. Play them, compare sound, feel, condition, and then take home the one that best meets your personal requirements.

·
Distinguished Member, Forum Contributor 2008
3,878 Posts
Hi, I'm a Canadian high school student looking for a saxophone to buy. I've played for 4 years but haven't bought one yet. Right now I have found a Conn 22M (700$), a Bundy II (500$), Kielworth ST-90 (800), and a Jupiter STS-687 (575$). If you have other suggestions they'd also be appreciated, my budget is 800$ and I also want to know if buying from eBay is a good idea (none of my suggestions are off ebay). Thanks
Canada's a big place. Be more specific, as those of us who reside here may be able to give you better guidance that way.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2016
18,665 Posts
Well..we could just shortcut this whole conversation.