Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
981 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So for the past two weeks or so I've been having an issue with the palm key high F and F# not coming out, and jumping up to a higher note. I'm not sure what the F jumps up to, but the F# jumps up to a D#, which is oddly perfectly in tune. I brought it to the repair guy today, and he said he couldn't find anything wrong with it regulation-wise so we're all stumped currently. I'm playing on a Selmer Soloist with V12 3.5's on a Reference 54 alto, and haven't dropped anything or anything of that sort. Front F and F# come out consistently, and high E and high G (1&3 on each hand; my only altissimo note) come out clearly as well. I've definitely considered that it's just me, but I haven't noticeably changed anything in the past few weeks and even though I continue to practice those notes they don't seem to be getting any better. I've been playing for about 7 years now, all-state band, first at all-district, etc. so it's not a development issue or anything. Mouthpiece and horn techs or anyone who's experienced something similar, do you have any suggestions? Thanks!

Oh and we did try cleaning the octave key hole and checked all pads and such.

·
Distinguished Technician & SOTW Columnist. RIP, Yo
17,204 Posts
Nothing that would change the shape of the cavity inside your mouth? Dentures? Bee-stung tongue? :)

Does the neck octave pad open correctly?
Have you checked the neck vent for obstructions, eg fluff?
Is the mouthpiece end of the neck cork intact, and does that part of it seal well in the mouthpiece?
Are there any foreign bodies inside the neck? A layer of shedded mouth lining, or other gunge?
Could there be a split in the seam of the neck? Block one end, close the pad, and air pressure test at the other end.
Has the soldering of the octave vent failed? See if it can be wobbled, or try to push it out gently from inside.