Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello! :)

I'm interested to hear expert bari player's opinions about "high end" vintage mpcs. My setup is currently '67 The Martin bari with Brilhart Tonalin mpc (w/Rico Select Jazz 3S).
I haven't measured the tip opening yet, but it feels about same size as modern Meyer 7M. I like very much the lush and round tone that setup produces but
I'm still missing some 'edge' when playing louder. For example Meyer gives some of that edge but is totally lacking the same sweetness of the tone.

I'm particularly interested to hear comparisons to MC Gregory mpcs, Otto Link Slant signature and Brilhart Streamline Tonalin. And with all respect, I'm a professional
SAT player, so I'd like to keep the conversation in fine details of these mpcs, excluding comments like "practise harder" and "it's all about the player" :)

Thank you in advance!

·
Registered
1,955 Posts
I currently play a Slant sig. I deffinitely think its worth it. I bought it just to see and was very prepared to resell after giving it a go. I used to play modern Tone Edge, Vandoren B75, Vandoren V16 B7, Phil Barone modified tone Edge (apparently its the Ronny Cuber mod), and an Aizen slant reproduction. All of these are great mouthpieces. But my original slant is amazing. Lots of depth and as much brightness as I need.

I use it in big bands and a funk band. Its just fine in both situations for me.

·
Premium Member
3,302 Posts