Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
120 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys. I need some help here. I currently play clarinet and double with E-flat clarinet. I love both my instruments, and my supportive parents have paid heavily for professional instruments for me. I have recently fallen in love with a bass clarinet i snagged off ebay for $200. I love the sound of the bass clarinet, and i'de love to get into it. I know that in some countries, the bass clarinet reads bass cleff, which isn't a problem for me thanks to my 5 years of piano playing. However, i feel that if i get into too many instruments, i'll get carried away. My dad warns me that if i play too many instruments, i wont get good at any of them. I really like the bass clarinet, but i have enough trouble doubling between the Bb and Eb clarinets. I'm still a student (9th grade), but my dream is to play my music in a professional orchestra. I really like the bass, but i'm afraid to get too into it. Help!

·
Registered
350 Posts
If you're planning on playing in orchestras, learning the auxiliary instruments is going to be very beneficial for you. You should practice them all equally though. Play some of your solos and etudes for Bb on Eb and Bass. That should help your facility on the others. Also, private lessons are going to be another great asset to your playing. A private teacher can identify some good equipment for you for your instruments. Don't forget you're going to NEED an A clarinet soon if you don't have one already!

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
4,160 Posts
conveniently clarinets are all beneficial to one another. Bb and Eb is good, although Eb is not really as important as being able to play Bb and bass... Eefer is a rather specialty instrument and not used outside of a lot of symphonic stuff. It's good to have though.