Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! I'm in my second year of High School marching band; last year I marched tenor (which wasn't that hard) and this year I've made the decision to march Bari. I am a 5'2", 125 lb. female and I'm playing a 'OLDS' bari sax. I've only really marched it once, and that was for the Memorial Day Parade. I had a lot of trouble marching it, I was using a regular neck strap and I was holding it where the end was at my right hip. I couldn't really keep holding it up, which really messed up my sound. It would bounce on my leg, causing some pads to go down. I now have a harness for it which I've also used once (but didn't march with it) and I feel like I will still have the same problem (having it bounce on my leg). Band camp begins next week and I would really like to be able to go through it, and the rest of the season, without having my sound messed up just because I'm not exactly "made" to march the bari. I have looked at other advice columns about it on the internet, and the "best" advice is to NOT march bari at all, which is not an option for me!!! :| I LOVE playing the bari and I would love to successfully be able to march it, too! So if you have any GOOD advice, please let me know!! :)

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
1,317 Posts
I've marched bari and bass for years - but would never even try it with only a neckstrap. I've had a bunch of harnesses over the years and I've found they are not all created equal.
I don't know what you have but the Gemini is the one I bought years ago and stopped shopping. They even make one that fits a woman's physique (what a concept!).
Not the cheapest but you get what you pay for. The horn shouldn't have to be held up and it shouldn't be resting on your hip.
Take a look and I hope you find something that works for you!
http://www.saxharness.com/

·
Indistinguishable Resident Buescher Bigot and Foru
8,588 Posts