Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi,

I recently acquired a '62 Selmer Mark VI (tenor) and got a Berg Larsen mouthpiece with the horn. I am just beginning my sax career, and would be grateful for some suggestions on what to do with the mouthpiece.

For what I can tell, it seems to be made of hard rubber (or plastic?), the color is black altough it has faded to a bit brownish hue. Markings on it are almost unreadable, but my best guess is that they are:

SMS

The mouthpiece is at least 20 years old, probably more.

And now for the questions:

1. Based on the info, what can you tell me about this mouthpiece? For what styles is the mouthpiece best suited for?

2. Is this mouthpiece ok for a beginner or should I look for something else? My teacher recommends that I should get a metal Otto Link 6* or 7 but based on the information from this site it seems that Links might be a bit tricky for a beginner. Also, being a total beginner I feel that I am not competent to test and evaluate differences of mouthpieces yet. I would therefore be tempted to keep this mouthpiece unless it doesn't have possible ill effects on my development.

3. What strength of reed would you recommend as optimal for this mouthpiece? The previous owner seems to have been using Rico 2 1/2.

Thank you in advance for any information/suggestions!

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, & Forum Contributor 201
587 Posts
I am guessing this is an alto. The 85 is the tip opening. That's a bit wide for a beginner. You probably want a more closed tip. I use a similar opening on a Meyer with a Java 2.5 reed.

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Hi John,

and thank you for your quick reply. I'm sorry for leaving out this vital piece of information: it came with a _tenor sax_.

·
Distinguished SOTW Coffee Guru
38,818 Posts