Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I consider myself an experienced hack, not a pro but not a beginner.
Over the last 30 years I have been chasing "the tone" and trying to extend my range on the tenor. After much silliness and cash spent I have settled on a Yamaha Custom Z series II tenor with a V1 neck, 10Mfan black widow 8* and Legere signature 3.0 reed. After listening to Dexter Gordon a fair bit I have altered my embouchure to a 'lip out' rather than 'lip in' approach which has fattened things up nicely.
BUT! My intonation has gone out the window. I have been plugging away for about 6 months on long notes and practicing with a tuner, but once I start playing in a band situation it all goes to custard, particularly going from Middle D to upper G and then high C#/D are shockers. My middle C is so out I have to use the alternate fingering as a tuning note. Everything lower than middle C seems fine.
I am pretty confident the problem lies with me and my relationship with the V1 neck; chopping and changing with my purple logo 62 neck/body causes the same problem.
I know the V1 neck can be a bit of a challenge to control, but I really dig the tone.
So, please, any tips or exercises to improve intonation would be most welcome. I get I need to put the hours in, but some direction would be appreciated. Or should I just admit defeat?

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
8,555 Posts
Funny, when I saw this thread I thought it said MKVI tuning woes, which frankly would have made more sense.
Yamaha and tuning issues doesn’t really compute for me.
I feel like it may be too many changes at the one time.
Different embouschure, coupled with different neck and possibly a reed style or change also?

·
Distinguished SOTW Coffee Guru
41,405 Posts
there are threads on Yamaha necks and their ( supposed or personally dependent) intonation quirks ,