Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My name is, Jeff and I am new to SOTW. This may be what you would call a "newbie" question, but I am not sure what to do.

Today, I recieved the two alto mouthpieces that I ordered from WWBW (a meyer 6M and a meyer 7M). I did not like the 6 for some reason. But, I love the 7, the sound is great! It has that warm, fat, buttery sound I have been searching for. BUT.. The high notes are a real pain... for some reason they take a whole lot of energy to come out. I have never had a problem with high notes on any of my other mouthpieces, so I have no idea what is causing it. Maybe I am biting too much? Or maybe the reed is too hard (I am using a Rico Jazz Select 3M Unfiled). I was wondering if this is just a common effect of making the switch to a larger tip opening, and if this will get better as i become more accustomed to this new mouthpiece. I need to decide whether i should send it back or keep it.

If it is any help, i play on an reference 54 alto, and my current set up is a meyer 5M with Rico Jazz Select 3M Unfiled reeds. Thanks in advance for your help!

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
4,596 Posts
A problem might be that you are using the same reed strength. In general, when increasing tip opening while leaving all other factors the same, use slightly softer reeds. Try a 3S or 2H, and Vandoren Java 3 (they are about equivalent to 3S and I find they have a lot more ZING and overtones than the rico jazz selects).