Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi!
I’ve been playing bari for about 9 months and bass clarinet for 5 years but have only ever been remotely serious about it for about 9 months as well.
First day of sophomore year and I’m in this jazz band I was convinced to be part even though I didn’t even know what jazz was. I was presented with the choice of playing tenor or bari, many recommended tenor because it was in the same key as bc but I chose bari for ****s and giggles
What I did not know was that this would spark my first thing I’ve ever been passionate about in life.
Now I’m averaging about 6 hours of practice daily and it feels so good to have a passion. It’s not even about school music as much anymore I’m probably gonna skip band camp to do construction for a new not school owned sax
With that long winded essay though the question is what can I do to make these hours of study more effective? It sort of now looks like
4 hours of Long Tones a week (2 on each horn)
3-5pm outdoor jam sessions on thursdays where I’m starting to come out of my shell and meet madly impressive and inspirational cats
1 hourish of scale work a day
Probably like an hour or 2 a week dedicated to etudes and book studies (Eddie Harris The Intervalistic Concept (reccomend some more books too this one is lowkey really hard, classical or whatever)
The rest of it devoted to memorizing heads, changes, and learning a tune by heart basically.
Outside of the practice room I might transcribe and transpose stuff when I’m done with school work or whatever, and I’m CONSTANTLY listening to all kinds of cool tunes from the highest grossing albums to some old obscure recordings to the new stuff too.
It’s pretty obvious to me this could use rearranging, but I could use some more professional opinions here.
Thank you so much in advance!!!

·
Registered
2,158 Posts