Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
388 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello and thanks in advance. I am new to vintage Buescher altos; my main alto is an early Buffet SDA which I love. I've spent some time searching the web and this forum looking for info on the Buescher alto, Aristocrat series 141. I just acquired one and it seems pretty neat. It is a later serial number, 357xxx which some websites say is a stripped down 400 (is a 400 a Top Hat and Cane?). It has the rear-firing bell keys, ivory rollers, nickel keys, original snap-in pads, and I guess the "big bell" (of the 400?)

I've been on Steve Goodson's website and several others, there's a bit conflicting info out there. I see there is a Super 400, a standard 400, a Top Hat and Cane, and about 5 pre-Selmer versions of the Aristocrat depending on where you look. From what I have found it should sound great (it has a little issue being repaired, I haven't played it yet).

I would appreciate this learned forum's comments to help me understand the history, value and play-ability of this cool little horn.

·
Registered
2,303 Posts
Congratulations, you got yourself a very fine horn, engraving notwithstanding, which for your purpose should not really matter. Buescher, from what I learned over the years, had the best quality control in the horn industry, they are all great horns. The series III (1951 -55ish) were the final tribute to nobility which then fell out of fashion in favor of the "dandy" -like top hat and cane but they are among the best vintage horns you can find. If you have it serviced / repadded, make sure they don't snap off the pegs for regular pads, if necessary, post here for advice.