Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Dear All,
I have been playing the alto sax for more than two years and i want to try out the soprano.i am pretty confused on what sax to buy .my budget range is below $1000.i have read many reviews and finally have selected two of them for comparison the Antigua winds ss3286 and Rs Berkley ss522.i have read reviews about the two and both of them seem to be good.i request your expert and valuable advice on the same and i would go ahead with purchasing one of the same.

thanks and regards,
vimal

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
14,446 Posts
Have you been able to play each model OR are you considering buying it via the Internet and having it shipped? Where do you live?

If you live in the USA, then my recommendation would be the Antigua. I do not know the RS Berkeley line but I know the Antiguas - I own one (an earlier version of this latest model designation).

Most inexpensive saxophones are made in Asia these days - mainland China or Taiwan. I will assume the RS Berkeley is Asian-made - correct me if I'm wrong. They may be good, I don't know. The Antiguas are Taiwanese the last time I heard. Antiguas are a known item here on SOTW.

If buying in the USA, then Dave Kessler's shop is the one of the main reasons I recommend the Antiguas. He has sold those horns to many of us and very few, if any, have reported disappointment.

There are choices among the Antiguas - fixed-neck, removable necks, hi-G keying, lacquered brass, black nickel, etc. Mine is a 590LQ meaning it is lacquered brass and has the hi-G key. Its tone is slightly better than my three Yanagisawas (a subjective analysis, for sure) but the keywork is not as smooth as the Yanagisawas I own. Still, the model you cited (the one with dual necks and no hi-G - not a bad thing), should play very well, especially at their price. By the way, the finish does not matter. DAVE

·
2,309 Posts