Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,
I am a clarinet player in high school, and have been in the marching band for 2 years. This summer I am switching to Bari Sax for Marching Band. I have a few questions.

First Off, I am a 5'6, 150 girl (I am a softball catcher)I am pretty tough(kind of.) So, would you reccomend a Harness or a Neckstrap for me. Because of the design, I would not be able to wear the harness over my uniform, but I have not yet asked my director if I can wear it over.

Secondly, would it screw things up if i wore a harness for practice and neckstrap for performance.

Thirdly, are there any tips you could give me to help me in this area.I am by no means an expert or novice, really below a beginner and could use any tips.

Thank You! I willl gladly accept any and all advice.:TGNCHK:

·
Über Geek, Forum Contributor 2010 Distinguished SO
3,841 Posts
Do you know yet what kind of horn they're going to have you using? I'm a 5'6" girl and was a softball catcher, and I *always* use a harness to play my Yamaha baritone--those are REALLY heavy horns. If you're going to play something similar, I'd just get a harness and use it from day one. It will probably feel weird for a while, but once you get used to it your back and shoulders will thank you.

All this being said, if you asked my opinion on marching baritone sax, I'd say: 1) don't, especially if your band likes parades, and 2) if you must, see if there's a low Bb horn you can use. I own a low-Bb Mark VI that is light enough for me to play with a neckstrap, and if I went insane and wanted to march somewhere with a horn that's probably the one I'd do it with. But my high school/college bands were more parade-focused (I am a veteran of four Rose Parades), so there's no way on EARTH I would have chose baritone sax for any of that. Tenor was bad enough.